Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found by emailing support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:10 am

All times are UTC-07:00


To contact us directly, please use our support page at https://luma-touch.com/support.

LumaFusion 2.3.2 is now available in the App Store

Forum rules


We strive to provide a safe, fun environment for our forum members to discuss our apps, and other related creative tools and experiences. We will not tolerate disrespectful comments to other members. Please keep comments topical, and criticisms positive.



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Audio export settings
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:31 am 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:51 am
Posts: 12
Hi.

I always thought that LF was encoding to the best bitrate, not depending on the sample rate.

My last export's audio was quite muddy and when I checked it showed me a bitrate of 128 kbps.
Far from the 320 we can get from mp3/aac.

Any update concerning this very basic setting ?
Could be cool to get video and audio bitrates choices.

Thanks a lot.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 2928
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Audio

16khz
32khz
44.1khz
48khz

Video

2mbs
3mbs
6mbs
12mbs
16mbs
25mbs
36mbs

Available in Settings

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 5:05 pm 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:51 am
Posts: 12
Hi.
Thanks for the answer but what you stated was audio sample rate. But it's just half of audio settings.
Most important value would be the bitrate.
By default, LG encodes files with a bitrate of 128 kbps which is far from the best quality which is 320 kbps.
On complex audio 128 is clearly not enough to get a decent recent during the export.

As the audio part of a video file is a lot much smaller than the video part, if you don't allow users to choose the bitrate, you should set it at 320 kbps.

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 1:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 2928
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
'As the audio part of a video file is a lot much smaller than the video part, if you don't allow users to choose the bitrate, you should set it at 320 kbps'

Why?

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 7:18 am 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:51 am
Posts: 12
I don't understand your question, so, I'm gonna try to make my point clearer.

Let's assume we have a 10 minute 4K project to render.

A decent video stream (AKA standard setting) would be the 50 mbps setting
The best quality would be the 150 mbps setting.
A 3 to 1 ratio.

Consequently, this 10 minute export would result in a 50*60*10:8= 3.75 GB or
150*60*10/8= 11.250 GB file.

Quite a big difference.

Let's now talk about the audio part of the file.

You gave us, users, the ability to change the samplerate. Good.
Depending on the source files, high end users will determine their need, mostly between the 44.1 and 48 kHz settings.

But the second setting we need is the bitrate selection. The same you give us in the video stream settings.
In mp3 or aac, the average bitrate is 128 kbps. The maximum is 320 (in fact 512 concerning aac).
But for complexe or subtile audio, 128 is not enough at all.

By default, without anyway of changing the value, the export remains at 128.

Talking about the same 10 minute project, the audio parts size would be a 9.6 MB stream @ 128 and 24 MB stream @ 320.


As you can size, the filesize concerning the audio is nothingn compared to it video counterpart.
But this small difference could make a huge difference in rendering quality.

So, even if you don't want to add an audiobitrate option, which is a basic option on all video encoders, I think you would please a lot of
your long time supporting customers by setting the audiobitrate to 320 by default or to link it to the desired video quality.

Thanks for reading me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 2928
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Ok

Thanks for the clarification of your needs

I will let the developers know

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 10:36 am 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:51 am
Posts: 12
Thanks a lot.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited