Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found by emailing support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:47 am

All times are UTC-07:00


To contact us directly, please use our support page at https://luma-touch.com/support.

LumaFusion 3.0.9 is now available in the App Store


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: video layers request
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:14 pm 
Offline
Novice
Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:20 pm
Posts: 49
I mainly work with green screen so my main video track is some background jpeg.
My first layer video gets a thousand cuts.
I know on the main video line there is the slip function, I don’t know what it’s called
but basically, I slice a piece out and the remaining video or videos slide right into place.
That doesn’t happen on the other layers.
So for me, I have to play the pinch in and out game.
I pinch in real close for precise edits, listen to about a minute’s worth of video that I don’t need,
cut, delete and pinch out to find the remaining video to drag it and snap it in place.
Over time, all remaining videos get further and further away.
Is it possible to get a slip function like on the main video track?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 10:17 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:54 pm
Posts: 919
Could you leave out the background image until the end of your workflow? Add all the trimming clips to the main track, and adjust. Then multi select everything and move it all up one track. Then add the background image on the main track?

_________________
Mark


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 11:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 3317
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
That's a good possible workaround Mark

_________________
.. I started off with nothing and I still have most of it


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2021 8:14 pm 
Offline
Novice
Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:20 pm
Posts: 49
Quote:
Could you leave out the background image until the end of your workflow? Add all the trimming clips to the main track, and adjust. Then multi select everything and move it all up one track. Then add the background image on the main track?
Good suggestion but I do do that when it’s just a couple of backgrounds…
I’m making a webinar type series where the background is like a ppt type format
and changes frequently according to my talking points and it’s much easier to cut video
with the background to see where I’m at.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2021 10:45 pm 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:54 pm
Posts: 919
Another idea although I might be dreaming! Use a fake audio track with colour coded clips to represent your backgrounds. Use the main track to place your video clips then move everything up and replace the colour coded clips with the real background.

_________________
Mark


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2021 2:44 am 
Offline
Novice
Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:20 pm
Posts: 49
Quote:
Another idea although I might be dreaming! Use a fake audio track with colour coded clips to represent your backgrounds. Use the main track to place your video clips then move everything up and replace the colour coded clips with the real background.
I think I get your meaning but that extra step would break my editing flow.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: video layers request
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2021 8:23 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:43 am
Posts: 108
Not a great solution, but how about putting your animated background on the TOP layer. Shrink the background animations to a picture-in-picture and lock that layer so it doesn't move on the timeline.

Then edit your greenscreen elements on the first layer before you drag everything to it's final position.

_________________
www.youtube.com/mevi
Lumafusion on 2020 iPad Pro (with FCPXML export)
Davinci Resolve Studio on M1 MBP
Windows laptop for emergencies


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited