Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found in the App Store release notes or contact support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:26 am

All times are UTC-07:00


For answers to frequently asked questions please see our support page https://luma-touch.com/support. You can contact us from our support page, or email us directly at support@luma-touch.com.

LumaFusion 1.5.3 is now available on the App Store. This update adds Korean Localization, new aspect ratios, and fixes some issues

LumaFX 2.5 is now available on the App Store. This adds new ways to import media, and fixes the issue with importing LUTs

Forum rules


We strive to provide a safe, fun environment for our forum members to discuss our apps, and other related creative tools and experiences. We will not tolerate disrespectful comments to other members. Please keep comments topical, and criticisms positive.



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:15 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 129
I do my best to explain this in text format.

Ok I have a file from a Red One (thats a camera ) plug in required for use in Final cut.

Question 1: In future will their be any plugins for LF with the likes of say the Red "RED Hydrogen" coming out in 2018 from Red?

Question 2: Has anyone any working knowledge of Apple pro res importing to IOS ?

Question 3: What restrictions video size if any are their on iPad the Red camera shot at 5120 × 2700

What I have done is opened the Red camera file in Final cut then exported to apple pro res and transferred by air drop to iPad Pro / fail after export.

Tried drag to a SD card on lap top and then plug into the IOS iPad nothing their it say, re tired with another file being a go pro see it works.

I put some images below none work thats "H.264" "Apple ProRes 422, Timecode" "H.264, AAC, Timecode" last one is go pro this works


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-12-10 at 18.15.06.png
Screen Shot 2017-12-10 at 18.15.06.png [ 84.84 KiB | Viewed 414 times ]
H.264, AAC, Timecode.png
H.264, AAC, Timecode.png [ 75.93 KiB | Viewed 414 times ]
Screen Shot 2017-12-10 at 17.57.46.png
Screen Shot 2017-12-10 at 17.57.46.png [ 72.6 KiB | Viewed 414 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:42 am 
Online
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 1409
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Hi Rob

You're better directing this one to support at

support@luma-touch.com

_________________
.. the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few ... or the one


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 129
Thank you Grand Master , I have emailed support.
Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:26 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Sandy, Utah
Hi Rob,

iOS currently does not support ProRes. You would need to export H264 or HEVC for iOS compatibility.

We are working on a macOS app called LumaConnect, which would allow you to drag-and-drop virtually any media and that media would be made available to LumaFusion. In cases where the media wasn't compatible, it would create a compatible proxy which you could edit with, then when you're ready, you send the project to the Mac to render with the original media. This would hopefully resolve any issues with media (my guess is the 5120x2700 video might also be an issue with compatibility on iOS - though it is possible LumaFusion might allow it, in general iOS currently only supports 4K). We hope to release LumaConnect sometime in the 1st quarter of 2018

_________________
Chris P. Demiris
LumaTouch


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:10 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 129
Hello Chris,

That sounds very promising news thank you.

I may buy the Red "Hydrogen" phone and use for filming once it has been released, which I am hoping will work with the IOS and LF.

Exiting times.

Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:03 pm
Posts: 44
Quote:
Hi Rob,

iOS currently does not support ProRes. You would need to export H264 or HEVC for iOS compatibility.

We are working on a macOS app called LumaConnect, which would allow you to drag-and-drop virtually any media and that media would be made available to LumaFusion. In cases where the media wasn't compatible, it would create a compatible proxy which you could edit with, then when you're ready, you send the project to the Mac to render with the original media. This would hopefully resolve any issues with media (my guess is the 5120x2700 video might also be an issue with compatibility on iOS - though it is possible LumaFusion might allow it, in general iOS currently only supports 4K). We hope to release LumaConnect sometime in the 1st quarter of 2018
Wow. lumaconnect sounds amazing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 129
Many thanks for the reply,

I would be very interested in the Luma Connect once it is out, do let me know please.

Currently I agree with you that the size "5120 × 2700 " is the issue as I have re encoded the file to a suitable format for the IOS. However upon airdrop all happens as it should then followed by error send to cloud etc.

I have not actually found any info on apple forums re what is the "max size" an iPad Pro can except, if anyone else is reading and more knowledgable do post please.

I did try mpeg Streamclip with an export H264 size 5120 × 2700 on an Mac book pro but the mpeg Streamclip crashed.

Hand brake I tried however from my knowledge it has set sizes so not able to export at 5120 × 2700

Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:10 pm 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 129
This may have answered my own question.

I done a screen function record and the screen is full so I think this is as high as an iPad Pro can go.
Anyone no?


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 20.08.58.png
Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 20.08.58.png [ 19.37 KiB | Viewed 313 times ]
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited