Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found in the App Store release notes or contact support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Sun May 20, 2018 6:41 am

All times are UTC-07:00


For answers to frequently asked questions and to contact us directly, please use our support page at https://luma-touch.com/support.

LumaFusion 1.6.2 is now available on the App Store. This feature release includes integration with Gnarbox, and numerous improvements to the library and import and export providers

LumaFX 2.5 is now available on the App Store. This adds new ways to import media, and fixes the issue with importing LUTs

Forum rules


We strive to provide a safe, fun environment for our forum members to discuss our apps, and other related creative tools and experiences. We will not tolerate disrespectful comments to other members. Please keep comments topical, and criticisms positive.



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:35 am
Posts: 2
Hi.
I use my iPad as my 'home computer' and have a macbook at work for syncing/backups etc. I use pinnacle studio to edit small videos of GoPro footage.
I would like to be able to export a project and freeup the space consumed by the source videos. However it would be nice to be able to at some point re-import an exported project (with source video) if I wanted to make any changes etc.
I know I can currently export a project but cant see a way to reimport. Are there any manual ways i could achieve this functionality currently and might this be a feature that will be coming to the app?

many thanks,

Phil


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:01 pm
Posts: 1406
Hi Phil,

Thanks for writing.

Project backup and restore with media are certainly features we plan to do in the future so that it will be easy to move projects and media between devices.

Currently there is only a manual way to achieve this using iExplore, and it will take some management on your part. I am going to go through the workflow myself today to make sure I know all the details myself, then I will write you back with a tested workflow. You can get more information on iExplore yourself by looking at the Avid project transfer topic in the FAQs viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20

Thanks - get back to you soon!

_________________
Terri Morgan
LumaTouch


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:43 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:01 pm
Posts: 1406
Hi Phil,

I did some work on manually adding and deleting media files from Pinnacle Studio in iExplore and it worked pretty well. You can also use iExplore to back up projects and restore them.

To add/remove (compatible) media into Pinnacle Studio do the following:

Download the iExplorer utility from macroplant.com to your desktop computer (you can use it in demo mode to do what is needed)
- Run iExplorer on your computer and connect your iPad
- Open Apps->Pinnacle Studio->Documents->User Videos
- You can drag and drop video files from you computer or even iPhoto into this folder.
When your Pinnacle Studio Library re-builds they will show up.

You can also use iExplorer to backup and restore your PS projects to your computer
- Within the "Pinnacle Studio" app in iExplorer you need to backup the "Document->Projects" folder, and the "Library->Caches->RenderFiles" folder.

- Use these same directories in iExplorer to backup or restore the Projects and RenderFiles folders and the user media as described above.

We hope to have a feature that can take care of this for you in the future.

Thanks!

_________________
Terri Morgan
LumaTouch


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:35 am
Posts: 2
Hi Terri. Thanks very much for the steps. I will have to try this tomorrow and will let you know my results!

Phil


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:01 pm
Posts: 1406
Great!

Remember, if you add files to PS that have too high of a bitrate for iPad, you might experience problems, so in that case I would recommend using Handbrake (which is a free open source utility from handbrake.fr) to re-encode your videos before adding them to your iPad.

The steps are quite simple:
- Click the "Source" button to select your source video file
- Select your destination location/filename
- Select "MP4 file" for the output format
- Verify that "H.264 (x264)" is selected as the Video Codec and "Same as source" is selected for Framerate
- Leave "Constant Quality" checked, it provides the best results with smallest file sizes usually
- Adjust the quality slider between 18 (better quality) and 26 (smaller file size) - if you're working with very high quality material that you don't want to lose any image quality you could have Quality at 10.
- If the video is larger than 1920x1080, you can click on Picture settings, change "Anamorphic" to Loose, then adjust resolution until it is 1920x1080 or less.
- Click Start

_________________
Terri Morgan
LumaTouch


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited