Luma Touch Support Forums
http://forums.luma-touch.com/

Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...
http://forums.luma-touch.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=8183
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Glen Allan [ Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

I noticed the vignette effect applies based on a circle shape regardless of the shape of the frame. While i can see some preferring this for some applications it would be nice to be able to change the shape to either the circle, or conform to the shape of the frame, perhaps in a slider.

Also, if the video is cropped or resized, the vignette conforms to the original frame size outside of the viewing area, which i think is quite weird. Most of the time i end up exporting out the video with effects applied and bring it back in to apply the vignette so it stays within the frame boundaries.

Author:  garryknight [ Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

Quote:
it would be nice to be able to change the shape
Yes. Also, to be able to set the position of the centre of the vignette - a relighting effect often used by us photographers. And if the various parameters could be key framed, even better.

Author:  Glen Allan [ Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

Yes exactly. Considering other effects it actually a bit odd these adjustments aren't available. Seems a rather simple effect :P

Author:  in7ermaster [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

If you are willing to put the effort you can do it with the Overlay Blend mode

MVE
Attachment:
B74837D6-E45D-4A72-A916-9DA785C37992.jpeg
B74837D6-E45D-4A72-A916-9DA785C37992.jpeg [ 231.25 KiB | Viewed 2191 times ]

Author:  Glen Allan [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

Interesting. Good use of blend modes! Not too much work either. Adjustments would be different as the image being used is static, but if high res enough it could be sized in and out to accomplish the same. I'd also wonder if Keying the image with blend mode could give more granular control over the edge blur.

Great suggestion!

Author:  in7ermaster [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 1:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

The image doesn't have to be static. You can build it from shapes on a title. So it doesn't have to me circular
This also means that you can animate it using key frames.

Author:  Glen Allan [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

By static i just meant based on raster pixels, but yeah you could use shapes as well and key out the color. How would you blur the edges and get that variable set for it? I don't see a way to adjust any edge blur.

I do love the keyframe option it adds!

Author:  in7ermaster [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

Edit the title -> Frame & Fit -> Cropping -> Edge Softness

MVE
Attachment:
2250E158-1E59-4F53-A328-35A5AD48A417.jpeg
2250E158-1E59-4F53-A328-35A5AD48A417.jpeg [ 385.39 KiB | Viewed 2131 times ]

Author:  Glen Allan [ Wed Dec 04, 2019 6:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vignette apply to frame size, not just a circle...

Again i can see doing that with an image and a key, but doing it with a shape and edge softness only renders the blur in toward the middle of a shape. What am i missing?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC-07:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/