Luma Touch Support Forums
http://forums.luma-touch.com/

On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?
http://forums.luma-touch.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=7932
Page 1 of 1

Author:  iScott [ Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:27 am ]
Post subject:  On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

I think I’m missing something ... I do this type of edit all the time on Premiere and Final Cut but can’t seem to figure it out in Luma.

You have a timeline with a few layers of video and audio. You decide in the middle you need to extract a segment (let’s say you need to remove 1 second to reduce the time of your piece).

In Premiere, I’d mark an in at the start, mark an out on the end, then click the ‘Extract’ button. Everything between the in and out points is removed and the timeline collapses together to fill the space.

How would I do this in Luma? Of particular interest, how would I do it with keyboard shortcuts?

Author:  La4o [ Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

If I’m not wrong

Attachments:
2D6EDC34-8678-4185-8186-D3BA788AE131.jpeg
2D6EDC34-8678-4185-8186-D3BA788AE131.jpeg [ 118.13 KiB | Viewed 410 times ]

Author:  iScott [ Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

Quote:
If I’m not wrong
Doesn’t seem to work.

Still can’t ‘Mark In, Mark Out, Extract’ in a few simple key presses. Or even taps on the screen. Have to use the scissor tool, cut each clip on each layer, and lift them out separately.

Author:  Mark NZL [ Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

I’ve no experience with desktop editing but that sounds useful. Hopefully it’s on the developers’ to do list. Meanwhile you can cut each end through all layers if nothing is selected. Then delete each inbetween part but make sure you leave the main track one until last to avoid getting the tracks out of synch.

Author:  Dave Barton [ Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

It's on the l o o o o o n g list

We've just got (Basic) markers and there's more to come (no timeframe before you ask)

iScott - Mark's way is how to do it - at the moment

Author:  iScott [ Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: On a multilayer timeline, how do you Mark In, Mark Out, and Extract a segment?

Quote:
It's on the l o o o o o n g list

We've just got (Basic) markers and there's more to come (no timeframe before you ask)

iScott - Mark's way is how to do it - at the moment
Got it, thanks guys. Cutting through all layers with nothing selected was helpful...didn’t know that

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC-07:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/