Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found by emailing support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:37 am

All times are UTC-07:00


For answers to frequently asked questions and to contact us directly, please use our support page at https://luma-touch.com/support.

LumaFusion 1.7 is now available in the App Store. This update includes great new features like search and sort in the library, soft edges and curved corners in cropping, and our new integration with Storyblocks, a great royalty-free library of video, audio and sound effects. A sample of clips are included free, with a low-cost subscription available in-app for access to the full library


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:50 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:36 am
Posts: 167
I am looking to purchase this NAS RAID system ASAP:

https://www.amazon.com/Synology-bay-Dis ... 4SX6K&th=1

Is this compatible with LumaFusion?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:38 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 1615
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
I've just gone up from a Synology 212j to a 218+ and both worked fine with LumaFusion (although the 212j was a bit slow)

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:46 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:36 am
Posts: 167
Quote:
I've just gone up from a Synology 212j to a 218+ and both worked fine with LumaFusion (although the 212j was a bit slow)
Ah great. So you have this. Besides the hard drives, is there anything else I need?

Does this connect to my Comcast box so I can have wireless access and remote access via an ethernet cable?

Also, a few reviews on Amazon claim similar problems like, "480 kp/s transfer rate is unacceptable on a 100mb switch." Do you find this to be the case, too?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:00 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 531
Hello both of you I’m interested in say 1 GB file just one download and upload to you drives on your little new hard drive.

Some figures DATA like upload and more importantly download please include which router

Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:12 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 1615
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Ok

I agree with you Rob, printed transfer rates mean nothing to me either, it's what actually happens for me

And MyAmazingDiscoveries, only the people with bad transfer rates will complain - Some people (and I know you won't believe this :D don't like Apple products and for them Samsung may be the best. Some don't like Synology and only Qnap or WD are worthwhile.

Also, what is a bad/too slow rate for one is fine for another

It's like your word processor ... the best one is the one you use.


So here goes:

Wireless Only sat about 3m away from my SkyTV router (while watching sky)

1.13 GB single file NAS to MacBook Air Import 25 seconds

1.13 GB single file NAS to iPhone 7 LumaFusion Import 3 min 25 sec

1.13 GB file 1080p (1920 x 1080) 25 fps 24mbs output to NAS (after creating file in LumaFusion) 3 min 58 sec

1.13 GB file MacBook Air to NAS 50 seconds

Now, for me, those times are absolutely fine. For other people things may be different.

I don't have a Gnarbox but because it is SSD I would expect that to be faster still



Hope that helped

Edit: I have no idea what a Comcast box is or does, sorry. However, the NAS can be directly connected to a router via an ethernet cable (mine is)

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:15 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 531
Nice info Dave,

Tells me a lot, now I need to find the problem or upgrade.

Currently download a 1.1 gigs in lump file is 5 mins across LAN on wi fi.

Drive a WD cloud, download to a iPad Pro.

Upload a 20 gigs from iPad to WD DRIVE CLOUD 40 mins.

Router a standard sky with 12 month contract.
It’s download on WAN average 14 mbs, peaks at 16 mbs.

So very slow to work with over LAN using the WD to interface with the LumaFusion.

Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:34 pm 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 1615
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Which WD drive have you got?

Is it set for 'battery life' rather than 'speed' maybe? - 'battery life uses a lower power/slower connection but gives longer battery life'

EDIT: I've got a 4tb WD Mycloud Drive. I won't have time to fire it up until next week, but I will post some timings with the same file as above when I get chance

EDIT to the EDIT: Do you connect your iPad to your drive directly (ie in settings) or do you go via your router?

EDIT to the EDIT to the ...

Ok, I couldn't wait ... it's bugging me too now!

WiFi Only

Connected MacBook Air directly to 5ghz Wifi

1.13 GB file WD drive to MacBook 59 seconds
1.13 GB file MacBook to WD drive 1 min 15 sec

Connected MacBook Air directly to 2.4ghz Wifi

1.13 GB file WD drive to MacBook 3 min 33 sec
1.13 GB file MacBook to WD drive 3 min 22 sec (surprised at that)

Connected WD Drive 5ghz Wifi directly to iPhone

1.13 GB file import into LF on iPhone7 3 min 33 sec
1.13 GB file only export to WD Drive 1080p 25fps 24mbs 4 min 22 sec

Connected WD Drive 2.4ghz Wifi directly to iPhone

1.13 GB file import into LF on iPhone7 9 min 37 sec
1.13 GB file only export to WD Drive 1080p 25fps 24mbs 7 min 20 sec (surprised at that)

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Last edited by knobbydave on Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:44 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:15 pm
Posts: 531
2 TB WD mycloud same as yours Dave.
Yes I be interested in your results many thanks
Regards Rob


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:05 pm 
Offline
Adept
Adept

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:36 am
Posts: 167
Quote:
Edit: I have no idea what a Comcast box is or does, sorry. However, the NAS can be directly connected to a router via an ethernet cable (mine is)
Comcast is my ISP. They put a "box" in my house to offer Ethernet/wireless internet access via their cable service. I would guess they would refer to this as a router.

In researching, Comcast used to block ports to prevent NAS. But can a router block Ethernet?

So confusing. It really should not be this hard these days.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:51 pm 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 1615
Location: A small island off the coast of Europe
Rob

See my post ABOVE your last one

MyAmazingDiscoveries - I will do some more digging around

_________________
.. Good things come to those who wait


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited