Luma Touch Support Forums
http://forums.luma-touch.com/

Frame Around PIP
http://forums.luma-touch.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6205
Page 1 of 1

Author:  billbooz [ Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:32 am ]
Post subject:  Frame Around PIP

If I add a 2nd video layer and reduce the clip size using PIP I know I can create a 3rd layer between the main video timeline and the layer containing the PIP to add a shape that forms a frame around the PIP to keep it from blending in with main timeline video. (See attached screenshot.)

However, if I need the third layer for some other element, I can’t do this. Does anyone have a workaround I’m not thinking of or, better yet, is there a way to apply an effect - as there is for FCPX - that puts a border around a PIP?

Attachments:
697722E3-FD34-482E-9AAB-4DE200EE1E32.png
697722E3-FD34-482E-9AAB-4DE200EE1E32.png [ 5.07 MiB | Viewed 481 times ]

Author:  sfdex [ Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Around PIP

I’d consider pre-rendering the PIP element with a border.

Say you’re editing 1080 footage, put what will be the PIP on a timeline with a solid below it. Shrink the PIP footage to—say—95%. Render the PIP piece out to your camera roll at 1080 at the highest quality possible.

Then place the rendered-with-border piece on your timeline and shrink it to 40% or whatever size you want. By pre-rendering at 1080 and shrinking that, you’ll minimize any artifacting from prerendering.

Not a single-button solution, but it works!

- Dex

Author:  billbooz [ Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Around PIP

Thanks, Dex, good workaround.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC-07:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/