Luma Touch Support Forums

Welcome to the Luma Touch community forums, a great place to get help and share ideas with other users. The registration code can be found in the App Store release notes or contact support@luma-touch.com.
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:06 pm

All times are UTC-07:00


For answers to frequently asked questions please see our support page https://luma-touch.com/support. You can contact us from our support page, or email us directly at support@luma-touch.com.

LumaFusion 1.4.8 is now available on the App Store. This update resolves some audio preview issues as well as other bug fixes

LumaFX 2.4.3 is now available on the App Store. This fixes additional issues for iOS 9 users


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Snapshot Returns Error
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline
Apprentice
Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:53 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lynchburg, VA USA
On several occasions now when I try to take a snapshot of a frame I get an error message (see screenshot). Sometimes it will work then if I try to take another, the message appears. I have stopped all apps on my iPad Mini 3 running latest IOS 10 OS, shut down the iPad and restarted and still get error. (And, yes, I DID hit the "Snapshot" menu item even though the error message refers to a "video!")


Attachments:
IMG_5007.PNG
IMG_5007.PNG [ 1.54 MiB | Viewed 218 times ]

_________________
Bill

http://www.boozphotolearningcenter.com/blog
http://www.youtube.com/billbooz
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:14 pm 
Offline
Apprentice
Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:53 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lynchburg, VA USA
Just went into my Photos app and the two frames I tried to snapshot and got the error messages are there! Despite the "error." They were not there when I looked before! Weird.

Nonetheless, I have had this error display several times before and no snapshot appeared in my Photos camera roll.

_________________
Bill

http://www.boozphotolearningcenter.com/blog
http://www.youtube.com/billbooz


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:17 pm
Posts: 1020
Hello billbooz

hmm, this is new to me. Just want to confirm, you are using release version 1.3.377?

Are you able to export the video normally to the photos app (export a .mov or .mp4)?

Let me know

regards

Androu Morgan

LumaTouch


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:32 am 
Offline
Adept
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:16 am
Posts: 109
Location: Moscow
Hi Bill.
Sometimes errors in applications arise through the fault of not the application itself, but of the surrounding factors when the device is running. Therefore, you must first perform actions such as restarting the computer or reinstalling the application. So,
If there is a non-standard error in the application, there is a certain sequence of actions that are recommended. Since in your situation the error repeats, it is likely that a simple cleaning of the device's RAM will not help. But the general sequence of actions is as follows:

1) Make sure there are sufficient free resources of the device and the iCloud plan.
"If you exceed your iCloud storage limit, photos and videos won't upload to iCloud and your library won’t stay up to date across your devices." https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204570
2) Restart the application.
3) Release the device memory.
4) Restart the device using the shutdown method.
5) Perform a "hard reboot".
6) Create a new test project and repeat the steps. If the error recurs,
7) After making a backup of the presets, projects, application data, reinstall the application.

If after these actions you receive the error again, then only developers can help.

_________________
~ When they played I'd sing along, it made me smile ~


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:44 am 
Offline
Apprentice
Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:53 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lynchburg, VA USA
Quote:
Hello billbooz

hmm, this is new to me. Just want to confirm, you are using release version 1.3.377?

Are you able to export the video normally to the photos app (export a .mov or .mp4)?
LumaTouch


Androu, when I check it shows only version 1.3.7. I always try to stay current.

So, to be clear, I get this message that refers to "video" NOT when I try to do an export of my edited video, but rather when I try to get a SNAPSHOT of a frame! In this last instance, as I noted in my follow-up post, the snapshots - despite the error messages - did later show up in my camera roll. Weird, I know.

Fortunately, for me, I've never had an issue exporting one of my videos!

I just tried this again and here are results:

* went into project for a 10 minute+ video, took a snapshot of frame, and got same error, yet
the image did appear (immediately) in my camera roll
* went into project for a less than 2 minute video, took a snapshot of frame, and got NO error
message, but rather confirmation of successful save. Image was in camera roll!

Could it, in fact, have something to do with project size?

_________________
Bill

http://www.boozphotolearningcenter.com/blog
http://www.youtube.com/billbooz


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline
Apprentice
Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:53 am
Posts: 52
Location: Lynchburg, VA USA
Quote:
-----
1) Make sure there are sufficient free resources of the device and the iCloud plan.
"If you exceed your iCloud storage limit, photos and videos won't upload to iCloud and your library won’t stay up to date across your devices." https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204570
2) Restart the application.
3) Release the device memory.
4) Restart the device using the shutdown method.
5) Perform a "hard reboot".
6) Create a new test project and repeat the steps. If the error recurs,
7) After making a backup of the presets, projects, application data, reinstall the application.
-----
All good suggestions, lumaluke. As noted I did clear my iPad of all running apps and did a "soft restart," holding down the power button and swiping to "Power Down." No hard reboot, but if it persists, I will do that. Don't like to do it unless absolutely necessary. I have over 20GB iCloud storage and over 50GB of iPad storage free (don't know about RAM).

Thanks for your response. Appreciated. See my response to Androu.

_________________
Bill

http://www.boozphotolearningcenter.com/blog
http://www.youtube.com/billbooz


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited